Monday, July 28, 2008

Iced Earth - Framing Armageddon (2007)/The Crucible of Man (2008)

Let's go back in time for a little while. It's 1997 and Iced Earth has just released their fifth full-length album Something Wicked This Way Comes. The last three tracks tell the story of Set Abominae and the rise and fall of mankind entitled Something Wicked. These three tracks have a total playing time of about 20 minutes.

Now let's go back to 2008. Last year Iced Earth released Framing Armageddon, the first album of two that tell an expanded version of the Something Wicked story. Framing Armageddon tells the story up to the birth of Set Abominae. This album (as well as Iced Earth's previous album The Glorious Burden) features former Judas Priest singer, Tim "Ripper" Owens on vocals.

In September of this year, Iced Earth will release the second and final part of Something Wicked, The Crucible of Man. The second album continues the story where Framing Armageddon left off and ends with the destruction of mankind at the hands of the Setian race. On this album, legendary singer Matt Barlow returns to take over for Ripper.

For the ultimate listening experience, play these two albums back to back. Trust me, it will be epic.

Framing Armageddon

1) Overture
2) Something Wicked (Part 1)

3) Invasion

4) Motivation of Man

5) Setian Massacre

6) A Charge To Keep

7) Reflections

8) Ten Thousand Strong

9) Execution

10) Order of the Rose

11) Cataclysm

12) The Clouding

13) Infiltrate and Assimilate

14) Retribution Through The Ages

15) Something Wicked (Part 2)

16) The Domino Decree

17) Framing Armageddon

18) When Stars Collide (Born Is He)
19) The Awakening

Download link removed at the request of SPV.

The Crucible of Man

1) In Sacred Flames
2) Behold The Wicked Child

3) Minions of the Watch

4) The Revealing
5) A Gift Or A Curse
6) Crown of the Fallen

7) The Dimensional Gauntlet
8) I Walk Alone

9) Harbinger of Fate
10) Crucify the King
11) Sacrificial Kingdoms
12) Something Wicked (Part 3)
13) Divide and Devour

14) Come What May

15) Epilogue

Download link removed at the request of SPV.

No comments: